BJP candidate Taranjit Singh Sandhu voted in Amritsar and urged people to vote for development.

Taranjit Singh Sandhu, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate for the Amritsar constituency and a former diplomat, cast his vote in the final phase of India’s Lok Sabha elections on Saturday.
Shortly after casting his vote, Sandu urged voters to vote in favour of the development.
“The world’s largest democratic movement is underway. People should exercise their right to vote today. I appeal to voters across India, especially in Amritsar, to vote as many as possible today. Voting in Amritsar should be for development. You all know the situation in Amritsar. My campaign is directly related to the progress and development of Amritsar,” he said.
Taranjit Singh Sandhe, who retired after serving as India’s special envoy to the United States, is contesting against incumbent Indian National Congress member and candidate Gurjit Singh Aujla, AAP’s Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal and Shiromani Akali Dal’s Anil Joshi.
The final phase of voting will take place in all 13 constituencies of Punjab on Saturday.
In the 2019 elections, Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla won the Amritsar seat by a margin of about 100,000 votes. He defeated Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri.
Voting for the seventh and final phase in the biggest extravaganza of democracy began on Saturday with voting starting at 7 am in the last 57 constituencies in seven states and the union territory of Chandigarh.
According to the Election Commission of India, over 10.06 lakh voters, including around 5.24 lakh men, 4.82 lakh women and 3,574 voters of the third gender, are expected to exercise their franchise.
A total of 904 candidates are in the fray heading into the final stage of voting. Some of the leading candidates at this stage include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nishikant Dubey and Ravneet Singh Bittu, Congress leaders Manish Tewari and Charanjit Singh Channi, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Harsimrat Kaul Badal and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Misa Bharti.
The six previous rounds of Lok Sabha elections were held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25. State Assembly elections were also held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. Odisha has held simultaneous polls for both the Lok Sabha and the state Assembly for the last four elections.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *