India News | BJP candidate Taranjit Singh Sandhu votes in Amritsar, urges people to vote for development

BJP candidate Taranjit Singh Sandhu. (Photo/ANI)

Amritsar (Punjab) [India]Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from Amritsar constituency and former diplomat Taranjit Singh Sandhu cast his vote in the final phase of the Indian Lok Sabha elections on Saturday.

Shortly after casting his vote, Sandu urged voters to vote in favour of the development.

Also Read | PM Narendra Modi continues 45-hour meditation at Vivekananda Rock Memorial in Kanyakumari (Watch Video).

“The world’s largest democratic movement is underway. People should exercise their right to vote today. I appeal to voters across India, especially in Amritsar, to cast their vote as many times as possible today. Voting in Amritsar should be for development. You all know the situation in Amritsar. My campaign is directly related to the progress and development of Amritsar,” he said.

Taranjit Singh Sandhe, who retired after serving as India’s special envoy to the United States, is contesting against incumbent Indian National Congress member and candidate Gurjit Singh Aujla, AAP’s Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal and Shiromani Akali Dal’s Anil Joshi.

Also Read | 7th phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024: Voting begins for final phase of general elections, PM Narendra Modi in hot seat (Watch Video).

The final phase of voting will take place in all 13 constituencies of Punjab on Saturday.

In the 2019 elections, Congress’ Gurjeet Singh Aujla won the Amritsar seat by a margin of about 100,000 votes. He defeated Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri.

Voting for the seventh and final phase of the biggest extravaganza of democracy began on Saturday with voting starting at 7 am in the last 57 constituencies in seven states and the union territory of Chandigarh.

According to the Election Commission of India, over 10.06 lakh voters, including around 5.24 lakh men, 4.82 lakh women and 3,574 voters of the third gender, are expected to exercise their franchise.

A total of 904 candidates are in the fray heading into the final phase of voting. The leading candidates at this stage include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nishikant Dubey and Ravneet Singh Bittu, Congress leaders Manish Tewari and Charanjit Singh Channi, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Harsimrat Kaul Badal and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Misa Bharti.

The six previous phases of voting for the Lok Sabha elections were held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25. State Assembly elections were also held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. In Odisha, the final four phases of the Lok Sabha and state Assembly elections will be held simultaneously. (ANI)

(This is an unedited article auto-generated from a syndicated news feed and LatestLY staff may not have altered or edited the content body)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *