Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann: Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann meets AAP leaders from Fatehgarh Sahib and Amritsar | Chandigarh News

CHANDIGARH: Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann on Monday met AAP leaders from Amritsar and Fatehgarh Sahib to hear their views on the party’s defeat in the two constituencies in the Lok Sabha elections. Kunwar Vijay Partap Singh, MP from Amritsar (North), was absent from the meeting. Sources said that the Fatehgarh Sahib leaders pointed out that despite opposition against incumbent MP Amar Singh, the Opposition managed to secure a sizeable number of votes in Samrala and Amargarh as voters voted for the Lok Sabha on national issues. AAP candidate Gurpreet Singh GP finished second with a margin of 32,202 votes. All the nine MPs representing the constituency contesting the Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha seat belong to the AAP but failed to gain an advantage over the ruling party. In Amritsar, the incumbent Indian National Congress MP Gurjit Singh Aujla defeated cabinet minister Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal by 40,301 votes. After the meeting, an AAP spokesman said, “The party may have lost the elections in Amritsar and Fatehgarh Sahib, but our performance in both the Lok Sabha constituencies was much better compared to the last Lok Sabha elections.” He added that Mann had appealed to party leaders and state legislators to pay special attention to local development works and people’s issues and to address them at the grassroots level. Mann posted on X that he had held detailed discussions on various issues with party leaders in both constituencies. He added that he had instructed them to expedite development works that have been delayed due to the code of conduct.

We also recently published the following articles:

Fatehgarh Sahib Election Results 2024: Indian National Congress’ Amar Singh wins Punjab’s Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha seat

Indian National Congress candidate Amar Singh secured 3,32,591 votes to win the Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha seat in Punjab, defeating AAP’s Gurpreet Singh GP by 34,202 votes.

AAP-Congress alliance only for Lok Sabha elections, no alliance yet for Delhi assembly elections: AAP leader Gopal Rai

AAP leader Gopal Rai made it clear that the AAP-Congress alliance is only for the Lok Sabha elections and the party will contest next year’s state assembly elections on its own.

Akhilesh Yadav becomes Samajwadi Party’s Parliamentary leader

Akhilesh Yadav has resigned from the Uttar Pradesh Assembly to lead the Lok Sabha, a process that will be carried out in Delhi and endorsed by Rajendra Chaudhary, who represents the Kalhar constituency in Mainpuri.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *